Text APPT to 839-894839-894 to make an appointment

Clinical Pharmacy

Patient Resources

Safe medication use

http://www.safemedication.com/

Be An Active Member of Your Health Care Team article: http://tinyurl.com/zceyloh

"Think it Through" to Manage the Benefits and Risks of All Medicines: http://tinyurl.com/hb2h7vm

Check Your Medicines: Tips for Using Medicines Safely: http://tinyurl.com/zq4a9nh

Drug/disease information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): http://www.cdc.gov/

American Academy of Family Physicians: http://familydoctor.org

Mayo Clinic: http://www.mayoclinic.org/

National Library of Medicine's website for consumer health information: https://medlineplus.gov/

Merck Manuals: http://www.merckmanuals.com/home

FDA Drug Information for Consumers: http://www.fda.gov/drugs/resourcesforyou/consumers/

Understanding Over-the-Counter Medications: http://tinyurl.com/jlk6mro

Diabetes

American Diabetes Association (ADA): http://diabetes.org/

National Diabetes Education Program (NDEP): https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-communication-programs/ndep/pages/index.aspx

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Health Information Center: https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes

Older adults

National Institutes of Health website for older adults: http://nihseniorhealth.gov/

Medline Plus: Seniors' Health: https://medlineplus.gov/seniorshealth.html

Tips for Seniors: http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/ResourcesForYou/Consumers/TipsforSeniors/default.htm

Health in Aging: http://www.healthinaging.org/

New Hanover County Senior Resource Center: http://src.nhcgov.com/

Cape Fear Agency on Aging: http://www.capefearcog.org/Area-Agency-on-Aging

North Carolina Division on Aging and Adult Services: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/daas

Seniors' Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP): http://www.ncdoi.com/SHIIP/

Medicare Part D Plan Finder: https://www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan/questions/home.aspx

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization: http://www.caringinfo.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=1

National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse (NCPEA): http://www.preventelderabuse.org/

National Council for Aging Care's guide on Elder Abuse:
http://www.aginginplace.org/guide-to-recognizing-elder-abuse/

Children

National Institute  of Child Health and Human Development: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

American Academy of Pediatrics Healthy Children: https://www.healthychildren.org/English/Pages/default.aspx

CDC Immunization Schedules for Infants and Children: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/easy-to-read/child.html

Tips for parents about the safe use of over-the-counter (OTC) medicine: http://tinyurl.com/73t6wgd

Medication assistance

http://www.needymeds.org/

http://rxoutreach.org/patients/

http://medassist.org/

http://www.panfoundation.org/index.php/en/patients

Medicare Pharmaceutical Assistance Programs: https://www.medicare.gov/pharmaceutical-assistance-program/

Social Security website: https://www.ssa.gov/

Low income subsidy (LIS, "extra help") application: https://secure.ssa.gov/i1020/start